Dear You, Yes, you. Maybe you’ll read this. And just maybe you will not. Either way, this is me; writing my love on a giant leaf and slipping it the glass bottle that is this post. When I hit Publish, it is me looking at the rising sun and throwing this bottle into the endless ocean that is the interwebs. I choose to write, not because I possess any particular gift of perfect rhyme and reason. It certainly isn’t because I possess any specific powers of writing. I stumble on my words like the clumsy teenager I used to be. I find that when I have so much to say, I recede and the words fail me. Every day that begins with the tendrils of blue and flashes of yellow sun, I seek to close the distance between us. I want my arms to be your strength when you don’t feel like you can go on. There are times you crave for me, like an ache deep within your soul. I know your pain. You probably don’t know this, but I do. And it kills me every time I know you feel like so and I am not there. I woke up this morning and you weren’t there. I don’t know why my mind expects that you should have been, but it did. In that haze where sleep hangs like the cobwebs of a thousand spiders, I reached for you. I don’t know why I did, but reach I did. The disappointment that engulfed my heart when my arm made contact with my sheets again was immeasurable. It was enough to wipe the last vestiges of sleep from my eyes. But I refuse to be grumpy or dismayed or anything of that sort, because I know. I know everything is as it should be, for now. It’s the way you make me feel. It’s the things you make me think of. It is how in this life of mine, I’ve learnt the hard way that nothing is certain; and yet I build castles in the air with you and for you. It’s the things you make me say. It’s how I have a panic attack when I think of how into you I am. It’s how angry I get with myself when I realize that this vulnerable man is me. I know I’m f*cked because I never get like this. I’m screwed because I can’t even start to think of what I would do without you. I guess tomorrow will never be guaranteed but I have you now. And I hold your hand in mine and I give you now, right now. And all the nows that we can have in perpetuity for as long as time and circumstance allows us to be.You’re going out today. You will need me, and I won’t be there. My words come few and far between because I am not a man of many words, but let these suffice. Let my words hold you, and comfort you like I so badly want to. You’re a fantastic woman, a gem and I am proud of you. Hold your head high knowing that I love you. Till my eyes alight softly on your skin again, Love.. Mimo

